Winners of the Canadian Slovak League Scholarships

CSL_LogoCanadian Slovak League awarded $6,250 in scholarships for the 2011-2012 academic year, to reward eight of our young members for their academic achievements.

Mary Ann Doucette (Hačková), President of the Canadian Slovak League announced the winners: The Canadian Slovak League (CSL) established the scholarships to recognize the academic achievements of its youth members. On behalf of the Board of Directors, I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 CSL scholarships:

1st place          $1,000           Melissa Hlozan (CSL Branch 7, Toronto)
2nd place           $750            Stephen Pauco (CSL Branch 23, Welland)

University (undergraduate program):
1st place          $1,000           Andres Cabrera Diz (CSL Branch 23, Welland)
2nd place           $750            Petra Repka (CSL Branch 31, St. Catharines)
3rd place (tie)    $500            Michelle Holfeuer (CSL Branch 34, Kitchener)
                          $500            Rachael Kross (CSL Branch 31, St. Catharines)

University (graduate studies):
1st place          $1,000           Branislav Pichna (CSL Branch 34, Kitchener)
2nd place           $750           Alexandra Kirschbaum (CSL Branch 7, Toronto)

In closing, I would like to congratulate the winners on reaching this significant milestone in their academic careers. And best wishes to them and all Slovak Canadian students for continued success in their future endeavours.