Winners of 2014 CSL Scholarships

CSL 200The Canadian Slovak League (CSL) established the scholarships to recognize the academic achievements of its youth members. On behalf of the Board of Directors, I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 CSL scholarships in the High School and University categories. There were no applicants in the College category.

High School:
1st place $1,000 Joseph Anthony Mader (CSL Branch 63, Ottawa)

University (Undergraduate Program):
1st place $1,000 Jennifer Csele (CSL Branch 23, Welland)
2nd place $500 Jocelyn Kendra Oprzedek (CSL Branch 31, St. Catharines)
3rd place $200 Harrison Clifford (CSL Branch 23, Welland)
4th place $200 Ryan Vyrostko (CSL Branch 23, Welland)
5th place $200 Leah Zahorchak (CSL Branch 31, St. Catharines)
6th place $200 John Clifford (CSL Branch 23, Welland)

The scholarships will be awarded to the recipients during Christmas events organized by the CSL Branches in their own Slovak communities. These celebrations provide an opportunity for the Branch Executive Officers and members to show their pride and express their support for the accomplishments achieved by these students.

In closing, I would like to congratulate the scholarship winners on reaching this significant milestone in their academic careers. Best wishes to them and all Slovak Canadian students for continued success in their future endeavours. Bravo!

Mary Ann (Hačková) Doucette
President, Canadian Slovak League